Databases and Newspapers



Academic OneFile
This database provides access to full text-articles on topics such as science, social science, technology, theology, literature, art, medicine and more.
Annals of American History
"This valuable chronicle of a nation's history provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action from 1493 through today. Thousands of illustrations, photographs and the original words in speeches, writings and interviews of more than 1,500 authors bring American history to life."
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
This database “indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.”
Biography in Context
This site “delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography.”
Bloom’s Literary Reference Online
This database allows users to “read about the fascinating lives of world-famous writers” and to “study the great works of world literature--from influential novels, poems, and plays to important works of nonfiction.”
Books & Authors
This database allows users to access “expert book reviews, recommendations, and author biographies.” Search by title, author, genre, character, subject, location, and time period.
Business and Company Resource Center
This "is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information."
CQ Researcher
"This database is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. It incorporates innovative and comprehensive reference databases that not only simplify the research process, but also enable students and patrons to access an ever-expanding archive of information."
Connecticut History Online
This website “currently contains about 14,000 images of photographs, drawings and prints which may be searched or browsed in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject, creator, title and date.”
Discovering Collection
"Use this comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies." Content within Discovering Collection is broken down into 6 main categories: “Cultures, Geography, Literature, Science, U.S. History, and World History.”
Educator’s Reference Complete
This website “focuses on the field of education.” It contains “articles for education professionals and parents.”  
Encyclopedia Britannica
"Users can locate information quickly by using Boolean operators, browsing A-Z, or typing in words, phrases, and questions to receive a list of relevance-ranked articles. In addition to providing answers to a multitude of questions, Britannica Online also leads users to additional information about their topics through related articles, links to outside Web sites, and bibliographies."
Encyclopedia of Connecticut History
This website “features hundreds of articles on Connecticut people, places and historical events.”
Expanded Academic ASAP
"From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!"
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This reference library provides full-text access to a wide selection of E-Reference Books.
General OneFile
This resource is “a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.”
General Reference Center Gold
"A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more."
GreenFILE
This database allows users to search and access full-text articles from a wide range of publications relating to environmental issues.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
"Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only."
!Informe
"Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias."
InfoTrac Student Edition
"This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more."
JSTOR
“JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.”
LegalTrac
This database “provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.” It “also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.”
NoveList
This database allows users to “find fiction titles based on a favorite author, title, or description, browse hundreds of hand-crafted lists organized by genre or awards, and read and use feature materials created exclusively for NoveList such as author read-alikes, feature articles, book discussion guides, and booktalks.”
Oxford English Dictionary
"The acclaimed 23-volume Oxford English Dictionary is the largest dictionary of English in the world and is the acknowledged authority on the development of the English language over the last fifteen hundred years. It traces the evolution of over 600,000 words, demonstrating changing usage through over 2.5 million quotations."
Power Search
This resource allows users to search multiple databases from the library’s subscriptions and to access full-text articles on a wide variety of subjects.
Science in Context
Users can search this site for full-text access to articles covering many different scientific topics, including “biology; chemistry; earth and environmental science; health and medicine; math and technology; and physics.”
U.S. History in Context
Users can search within this database for full-text articles grouped into the broader topics of “African American perspectives; American colonies; biographies; court cases and the Supreme Court; economics; events, decades and cultural trends; government documents; Native Americans; political constructs, movements, and organizations; and wars and conflicts.”
World History in Context
Users can search for full-text articles within this database under the broader topics of “biographies; countries, cultures, and civilizations; economics; events, periods, and cultural trends; human rights; political constructs, movements and organizations; religions; and wars and conflicts.”
Newspapers

America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-2000)
This database lets users “find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources.” A variety of documents are available, including eyewitness accounts, illustrations,  advertisements, and many other articles “exactly as they appeared in print.” This database includes many of the more obscure regional newspapers, such as The New Haven Register and The Boston Daily Advertiser.
Hartford Courant - Historical
This database contains full-text articles from The Hartford Courant. Publication dates range from 1764-1922. 
Hartford Courant - Recent
This database contains recent full-text articles from The Hartford Courant. Publication dates range from 1992 to the present.
Historical Newspapers
This database allows you to search previous issues of the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Daily Tribune. These full-text articles, ranging in publication dates from 1849 through 2001, are available for many topics of interest.
International Newspapers
This resource provides current full-text coverage from many international newspapers, including The London Times, Asian News International, and The Globe & Mail (Toronto). Publication dates range from pre-1980 through the present, depending on the publication.
U.S. Newspapers
This resource provides current full-text coverage from many U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Boston Globe, and The Washington Times. Publication dates range from pre-1980 through the present, depending on the publication.
Wall Street Journal
This resource provides current full-text coverage of The Wall Street Journal. Publication dates range from 1984 through the present.
**All quoted product information has been taken from the product's home pages or promotional information.http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=883http://america.eb.com/http://america.eb.com/http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=149http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=150http://www.fofweb.com/Direct2.asp?ItemID=WE54&ID=100726http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=1574http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=37http://www.cqel.com/cqresearcher/http://www.cthistoryonline.orghttp://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=34http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=954http://school.eb.com/http://www.ctheritage.org/encyclopedia/encyclopedia.htmhttp://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=47http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=475http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=46http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=49http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=1028http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=35http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=51http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=45http://www.jstor.org/http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=685http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=novelisthttp://www.oed.comhttp://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=1186http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=425http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=462http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=461http://infoweb.newsbank.comhttp://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=765http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=272http://www.proquestk12.com/myproductshttp://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=1488http://rqst-agent.auto-graphics.com/LoginModule/Goto.aspx?cuid=rqst&dataid=1487http://search.proquest.com/publication/10482/citation/131F7D5F0C4551507E9/2?accountid=40376shapeimage_3_link_0shapeimage_3_link_1shapeimage_3_link_2shapeimage_3_link_3shapeimage_3_link_4shapeimage_3_link_5shapeimage_3_link_6shapeimage_3_link_7shapeimage_3_link_8shapeimage_3_link_9shapeimage_3_link_10shapeimage_3_link_11shapeimage_3_link_12shapeimage_3_link_13shapeimage_3_link_14shapeimage_3_link_15shapeimage_3_link_16shapeimage_3_link_17shapeimage_3_link_18shapeimage_3_link_19shapeimage_3_link_20shapeimage_3_link_21shapeimage_3_link_22shapeimage_3_link_23shapeimage_3_link_24shapeimage_3_link_25shapeimage_3_link_26shapeimage_3_link_27shapeimage_3_link_28shapeimage_3_link_29shapeimage_3_link_30shapeimage_3_link_31shapeimage_3_link_32shapeimage_3_link_33shapeimage_3_link_34shapeimage_3_link_35shapeimage_3_link_36
Databases