Databases
This database provides access to full text-articles on topics such as science, social science, technology, theology, literature, art, medicine and more.
"This valuable chronicle of a nation's history provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action from 1493 through today. Thousands of illustrations, photographs and the original words in speeches, writings and interviews of more than 1,500 authors bring American history to life."
Associated Press Photo Archive
"This site provides a sensory journey of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history."
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
This database “indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.”
Biography Resource Center
This site contains “biographical profiles and images of individuals from antiquity to the present.”
Business and Company Resource Center
This "is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information."
CQ Researcher
"This database is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. It incorporates innovative and comprehensive reference databases that not only simplify the research process, but also enable students and patrons to access an ever-expanding archive of information."
Connecticut History Online
This website “currently contains about 14,000 images of photographs, drawings and prints which may be searched or browsed in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject, creator, title and date.”
Discovering Collection
"Use this comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies." Content within Discovering Collection is broken down into 6 main catagories: Geography & Cultures Search, History Search, Literature Search, Multimedia Gallery, Person Search, Science & Health Search.
Educator’s Reference Complete
This website “focuses on the field of education.” It contains “articles for education professionals and parents.”  
Encyclopedia Britannica
"Users can locate information quickly by using Boolean operators; browsing A-Z; or typing in words, phrases, and questions to receive a list of relevance-ranked articles. In addition to providing answers to a multitude of questions, Britannica Online also leads users to additional information about their topics through related articles, links to outside Web sites, and bibliographies."
Encyclopedia of Connecticut History
This website “features hundreds of articles on Connecticut people, places and historical events.”
Expanded Academic ASAP
"From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!"
General Reference Center Gold
"A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more."
Hartford Courant - Historical
This database contains full-text articles from
The Hartford Courant. Publication dates range from 1764-1922.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
"Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only."
Historical Newspapers
This database allows you to search previous issues of the
New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Daily Tribune. These full-text articles, ranging in publication dates from 1849 through 2001, are available for many topics of interest.
History Reference Center
“History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.”
iCONN Newsstand
Full-text coverage of the
Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Boston Globe, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Publication dates range from the 1980s to the present.
!Informe
"Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias."
General (InfoTrac) OneFile
This database provides access to “more than 60 million articles.” There are “more than 11,000 titles and backfile coverage from 1980 — from mainstream to specialized sources — ... for virtually every popular, business and professional topic.”
InfoTrac Student Edition
"This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more."
JSTOR
“JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible.”
LegalTrac
This database “provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.” It “also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.”
Oxford English Dictionary
"The acclaimed 23-volume Oxford English Dictionary is the largest dictionary of English in the world and is the acknowledged authority on the development of the English language over the last fifteen hundred years. It traces the evolution of over 600,000 words, demonstrating changing usage through over 2.5 million quotations."
Science Reference Center
“Science Reference Center is a comprehensive science reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from the areas of life sciences, physical sciences, and earth & space sciences. Science Reference Center is a completely full-text database that combines information from books, monographs, journals, magazines, encyclopedias, and reference works. It is an essential science resource for public, academic, and high school libraries.”
Student Research Center - History and Science
Users of this site can search magazines, newspapers, reference works, primary sources and more for information on topics such as “arts and media, careers, current issues, health, history, math, science, social studies, sports, and technology.”
What Do I Read Next?
"What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 60,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles. Search by genre, subject, author, title, series, and more. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month."
**All quoted product information has been taken from the product's home pages or promotional information.